Book of the month

Reading this title?

JOIN BOOKCLUBS

Discussion Guide

Beautiful Country: A Memoir of an Undocumented Childhood

By Qian Julie Wang

A NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK • ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR: The New York Times, NPR, Publishers Weekly, The Guardian, Good Housekeeping, She Reads, and more • One of President Obama’s Favorite Books of the Year

 

“Incredibly important, exquisitely written, harrowing. . . Beautiful Country tells [Wang’s] story, well, quite beautifully. It is not only Wang’s mastery of the language that makes the story so compelling, but also the passionate yearning for empathy and understanding. Beautiful Country is timely, yes, but more importantly it is a near-masterpiece that will make Qian Julie Wang a literary star.”Shondaland

 

“For fans of Angela’s Ashes and The Glass Castle.”—Newsday

“[An] exquisitely crafted memoir.”—Oprah Daily

 

“A heartbreaking and intimate memoir… the storytelling from a young Qian’s perspective is riveting.”Politico

 

“This unforgettable memoir is eye-opening to the nth degree.”—Real Simple

 

“Elegantly affecting.”The Guardian

 

“A coming-of-age memoir about an undocumented Chinese girl growing up in New York’s Chinatown, this lyrical book is full of small moments of joy, heartbreaking pain and the struggles of a family trying to survive in the shadows of society. It’s a uniquely American story, and an essential one.”—Good Housekeeping

“An astounding memoir from a debut author that you’re not going to want to miss.”—PopSugar

 

“[Qian Julie Wang] is remarkable, and her story is a must-read.”—Alma

 

“An amazing story of the emotional and physical toll of lives lived in the enforced shadows of anti-immigrant America.”—Daily Kos

 

“Wang’s voice is powerful and the writing is absolutely gorgeous.” —Emma Straub, author of This Time Tomorrow

 

“Beautiful Country rings with power and authenticity. Wang’s searing exploration reveals how she and her family were forced to navigate the yawning cracks in the American Dream. An eloquent, thought-provoking and touching memoir.”—Jean Kwok, author of Girl in Translation and Searching for Sylvie Lee