Join a book club that is reading The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue!

Copeland Oaks Book Club

Open to residents of Copeland Oaks Retirement Center and the surrounding area

The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue

Description

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER
USA TODAY BESTSELLER
NATIONAL INDIE BESTSELLER
THE WASHINGTON POST BESTSELLER

In the vein of The Time Traveler's Wife and Life After Life, The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue is New York Times bestselling author V. E. Schwab's genre-defying tour de force.

Recommended by Entertainment Weekly, Real Simple, NPR, Slate, and Oprah Magazine
#1 Library Reads Pick--October 2020
#1 Indie Next Pick--October 2020
BOOK OF THE YEAR (2020) FINALIST--Book of The Month Club

A "Best Of" Book From: Oprah Mag * CNN * Amazon * Amazon Editors * NPR * Goodreads * Bustle * PopSugar * BuzzFeed * Barnes & Noble * Kirkus Reviews * Lambda Literary * Nerdette * The Nerd Daily * Polygon * Library Reads * io9 * Smart Bitches Trashy Books * LiteraryHub * Medium * BookBub * The Mary Sue * Chicago Tribune * NY Daily News * SyFy Wire * Powells.com * Bookish * Book Riot * Library Reads Voter Favorite *

A Life No One Will Remember. A Story You Will Never Forget.

France, 1714: in a moment of desperation, a young woman makes a Faustian bargain to live forever--and is cursed to be forgotten by everyone she meets.

Thus begins the extraordinary life of Addie LaRue, and a dazzling adventure that will play out across centuries and continents, across history and art, as a young woman learns how far she will go to leave her mark on the world.

But everything changes when, after nearly 300 years, Addie stumbles across a young man in a hidden bookstore and he remembers her name.

Also by V. E. Schwab

Shades of Magic
A Darker Shade of Magic
A Gathering of Shadows
A Conjuring of Light

Villains
Vicious
Vengeful
Show more

BUY THE BOOK

448 pages

Average rating: 7.66

3,475 RATINGS

|

116 REVIEWS

Community Reviews

kethreen089
Jul 11, 2024
8/10 stars
The story takes it time to unfold but once it does, it gets very interesting. This isn't an action packed story but it is beautifully written and could be a modern classic. Literally a story for the ages with a bittersweet ending.
Show more
LizAllmon
Jun 15, 2024
10/10 stars
It's amazing!!!
Show more
LMahoney
May 31, 2024
10/10 stars
This is the 2nd time I read this book and it just keeps getting better! Love the ending so much! Excellent book.
Show more
Anonymous
May 25, 2024
10/10 stars
This was beautifully captivating. It really gives you a different perspective on living.
Show more
Paukku
May 25, 2024
6/10 stars
2.5 stars rounded up to 3. Schawb knows how to write beautifully. The prose is gorgeous. Sadly, there's no driving plot and I was sick of Addie's poor-me whining after just one of her 300+ years. I didn't find her character likable at all. And frankly I got tired of reading over and over that everyone forgets her. I get it. I want to forget her, too. OK, no. It is not that bad. It is just...flat. The words are beautiful but the story is rather empty. And that's how I felt at the end. Kind of empty. Pretty words though.
Show more

See why thousands of readers are using Bookclubs to stay connected.