Before We Were Yours: A Novel

A New York Times, USA Today, Wall Street Journal, and Publishers Weekly Bestseller. For readers of Orphan Train and The Nightingale comes a “thought-provoking [and] complex tale about two families, two generations apart. Based on one of America’s most notorious real-life scandals—in which Georgia Tann, director of a Memphis-based adoption organization, kidnapped and sold poor children to wealthy families all over the country—Lisa Wingate’s riveting, wrenching, and ultimately uplifting tale reminds us how, even though the paths we take can lead to many places, the heart never forgets where we belong.

1710 MEMBERS HAVE ALREADY READ THIS BOOK

BUY THE BOOK

384 pages

Average rating: 7.88

847 RATINGS

Community Reviews

See why thousands of readers are using Bookclubs to stay connected.