Moonrise Over New Jessup: A Novel

Winner of the 2021 PEN/Bellwether Prize for Socially Engaged Fiction, a thought-provoking and enchanting debut about a Black woman doing whatever it takes to protect all she loves at the beginning of the civil rights movement in Alabama. For fans of The Vanishing Half and The Prophets , this novel is both a celebration of Black joy and a timely examination of the opposing viewpoints that attended desegregation in America. Available January 10, 2023
Show more

BUY THE BOOK

336 pages

Average rating: 7.19

26 RATINGS

|

1 REVIEW

Community Reviews

Dr Rob
Jul 10, 2023
6/10 stars
Historically significant but...I found it often overly detailed, repetitive in those details and hence difficult to 'keep the dots connected'...the only significant character development was Alice, the main figure and the story may have benefitted from someone else's perspective -but overall, I enjoyed the book and would recommend it with the noted remarks...
Show more

See why thousands of readers are using Bookclubs to stay connected.

More books by this author